Using your “Share with client” link
Earn commission when clients book experiences using your unique shareable link.
How does the “Share with client” link work?
You share your unique link with your client
Your client books a product using your link
You receive commission on each booking made
Why use my “Share with client” link?
It’s flexible and simple to use
Generating a unique link is as easy as clicking the “Share with client” button and it can be shared across a variety of communication channels, such as email or social media.
Capture in-destination bookings
Many clients wait until they’re in-destination to book activities. By sending them your “Share with client” link, your client can book experiences on-the-go on their mobile device.
You’ll still earn commission
Your “Share with client” link does not expire and you’ll earn commission on any and all experiences booked using it.
Empower your clients
Clients who access your unique “Share with client” link have the ability to search for experiences, read reviews, and book an experience.
Where do I find my “Share with client” link?
After logging in at travelagents.viator.com, you can generate your “Share with client” link by clicking the “Share with client” button. You can generate a unique link from your homepage, destination or category page, or from a product page, giving you the flexibility to send links to your client at various points of the purchase journey.
It’s best to share your homepage link in “evergreen” situations – that is, situations where it will not lose context over time.
Share product page links so your client can easily read reviews and book themselves if the product is likely to sell out.
Share a destination page once your client has picked their destination, but wants to do their own research.
If you client has an idea of the type of experience they’re looking for, you can send them a specific category for them to peruse.
Looking for more info?
Attend our “Maximize Commission with Viator’s “Share with Client” Link & Social Media” webinar
Read our “New Ways to Use a “Share with Client” Link” blog post
What does my client see when accessing my “Share with client” link?
The travel agent experience
- You will be booking on travelagents.viator.com
- You will see a white header with the Viator Travel Agents logo
- You will see your own name in the upper right-hand corner
The client experience
- The client will be booking on viator.com
- The client will see the Viator logo
- The client will see your name in the upper left-hand corner
During checkout, you or your client will be prompted to fill out traveler details and payment information. The major difference is that travel agents will be prompted to put in their information, which will be pre-populated for your convenience. This is so we can tie the booking to you.
Your client will NOT have to put your information in at booking, as the “Share with client” link automatically passes your information through and ties that booking to your name, so you’ll never miss out on commission.
Can I send my “Share with client” links in other languages?
Yes you can. No matter what language you speak, you can choose to send clients your unique links in their preferred language. For example, if you speak French, but your client is predominantly Spanish-speaking, you can select to send them a link in Spanish. Clients will receive communications from Viator, such as confirmation emails, in the language that they select.
Below is an example of how a French speaking travel advisor would produce a link in Spanish:
Reporting on bookings made via your “Share with client” link
You’ll be able to see which bookings came from your “Share with client” link in the “Manage bookings” section of your account. Bookings made via the “Share with client” link will be labeled as “indirect.”
Direct bookings are made by you on behalf of your clients on travelagents.viator.com
Indirect bookings are made by the client on viator.com using your “Share with client” link
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the commission amount different when using the "Share with client" link?
Your standard commission rate is the same no matter if you book tours on behalf of your clients (direct bookings) or if your clients book tours for themselves using your “Share with client” link.
If my client books themselves, how will I know? How will that commission get tied to my name?
When a client accesses your “Share with client” link, your information is passed through automatically during the checkout process so we’re able to tie the booking to your account and pay you commission. Bookings made by your client using the “Share with client” link will be labeled in your reporting as “indirect.”
When do I get paid my commission on bookings made via the "Share with client" link
Commission earned on bookings made by your client using the “Share with client” link is paid out in the same way as direct bookings.
Your commission is paid out the month following the completion of the booked activity. For example, if your client books a tour in August 2022 for a date in October 2022 (i.e. the traveler goes on the tour in October 2022), your commission will be disbursed in November 2022.
Does my client have to create a Viator account when bookings from the "Share with client" link?
The client will have a Viator account automatically created for them during the checkout process.
- Your client will be able to manage their bookings directly through their personal viator.com account.
- Only the client will receive email notifications if they cancel or amend their booking.
- Any booking changes made by the client will show up in your booking and commission reports.
Does my "Share with client" link expire?
Your “Share with client” link does not expire.
How do I send my "Share with client" link to clients?
You can send your “Share with client” link any way you want. For example, you can send it in an email, in a text message, on social media, etc. You can include your “Share with client” link on your website or even your business card.
What is the attribution window for the "Share with client" link
The attribution window for the “Share with client” link is 30 days.
Once your client clicks on the link, you will get commission for their booking as long as they book within 30 days after that first click.
Each time your client clicks the link, the 30-day window starts over – the link does NOT expire.
Do I need to claim bookings made using my "Share with client" link
No, any bookings your client makes with your “Share with client” link will be tied automatically to your account and you will not need to claim these bookings.
Can I edit or cancel "Share with client" link bookings?
There are 3 ways for both you and your clients to manage bookings made using your “Share with client” link:
Your client can do it on their own within their Viator account.
Your client can call Customer Support at (888) 651-9785.
You, the agent, can call Customer Support on behalf of your client.